Pack the Senate!

November 9, 2009

This Wednesday Student Union Senate will consider a resolution that urges the University to remove the dishonest marketing term “Cl#@n Coal” from the name of the Consortium for Cl#@n Coal Utilization. “Cl#@n Coal” is an industry marketing term intended to obscure negative effects of coal extraction, combustion, and disposal. As an institute of higher education we must not insert such a counter-educational phrase into the public discourse on energy.

Come to the senate meeting Nov 11 at 9 pm in Simon Hall room 113 and speak your mind.

Email your senator (http://su.wustl.edu/find-your-senator) asking him/her to support the upcoming resolution. A sample email:

Dear Senator _________ ,

This week the Student Union senate will consider a resolution that urges the University to remove the dishonest marketing term “Clean Coal” from the name of the Consortium for Clean Coal Utilization. As your constituent, I fully support this legislation and urge you to help it pass.

As a center for higher education and exceptional research, the prestige of Wash U is very important to me. As such, any actions on behalf of the university that could potentially cast doubt on the integrity of university research  are deeply unsettling. “Clean coal” is a industry-created marketing term that seeks to hide the negative impacts of coal extraction, combustion, and disposal, and it has no place at our university.

This issue is important to me as your constituent- I will attend the senate meeting on Wednesday night to demonstrate my support- and I request your assistance to pass the resolution,

Jane/Joe Constituent

The complete list of Senators is:

Matthew Aiken   —   mgaiken@wustl.edu
Vaidehi Ambai   —   vta1@cec.wustl.edu
Sam Baier   —   skbaier@wustl.edu
Scott Bressler   —   sbressler@wustl.edu
Kelsey Brod   —   kelseybrod@gmail.com
Michael Brodsky   —   michaelbrodsky@wustl.edu
Tegan Bukowski   —   teganbukowski@gmail.com
Mamatha Challa   —   mchalla@wustl.edu
Michelle Chen   —   m.chen@wustl.edu
Becca Craig   —   racraig@wustl.edu
Alex Cooper   —   ascooper@wustl.edu
Kelsey Eng   —   KelseyE@samfox.wustl.edu
Betel Ezaz   —   bezaz@wustl.edu
Jacquita Germain   —   jsgermai@wustl.edu
Benjamin Guthorn   —   bguthorn@gmail.com
Amy Heard   —   amheard@wustl.edu
Liz Jordan   —   ehjordan@wustl.edu
Patrick Kelly   —   pdk1@cec.wustl.edu
Cody Katz   —   codymkatz@gmail.com
Jake Laperruque   —   jakelaperruque@gmail.com
Joseph Marcus   —   jem495@gmail.com
Robyn Michaelson   —   rmichaelson@wustl.edu
Kirsten Miller   —   millerki@olin.wustl.edu
Jake Novick   —   novickj@wustl.edu
Ross Passo   —   rmpasso@wustl.edu
Michael Post   —   mrpost@wustl.edu
Vinod Ravikumar   —   vravikumar@wustl.edu
Daniel Robinson   —   danielrobinson@wustl.edu
Chase Sackett   —   cssackett@wustl.edu
Eric Schwartz   —   ebschwartz@wustl.edu
Greg Schweizer   —   gmschwei@wustl.edu
Emily Treece   —   Emilyt1@samfox.wustl.edu
Jason Yakabu   —   jkyakabu@gmail.com
Ceren Yalaz   —   cerenyalaz@wustl.edu
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: